Confession: I don’t Facebook

I don’t Facebook, and I don’t tweet. I don’t do any of that social networking stuff. I think I’m afraid of being sucked in, constantly checking walls or friending people or whatever else you do when you’re on Facebook. See, I don’t even know the right terminology… “I don’t Facebook” or “I don’t do Facebook” or “I’m not on Facebook” – which is it?

See, I’m on my laptop enough already, what with three writing-intensive classes, two of which are web-based, so therefore require my online presence. Do I really need to sit in front of a screen even more?

Plus, without really understanding Facebook, it seems like it’s so revealing. Here I am, blogging. Isn’t that revealing enough?

And yet…

I’d like people to actually read this blog. It can sometimes be discouraging to write a post and have it float off into the cyber-ether, not knowing who sees it or if it matters. When folks comment on a post, it really makes my day.

So I’ve been talking to people. While we cut back and weed gardens, I’ve been grilling my workmates. They all Facebook (of course they do). Most of my “knitting posse” do, too. Folks are trying to convince me that it might be a good way to promote this blog. I haven’t been to the inner sanctum of Facebook, so I have no idea how that would work. But maybe it’s time to give it a try.

What do you think? Facebook? Don’t bother? Maybe I’ll consider this a challenge – if I get 3 comments convincing me to sign up (besides from my beloved family), then I’ll do it.

This entry was posted in uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Confession: I don’t Facebook

  1. Pingback: …and speaking of online classes | Going the Distance…Three Credits at a Time

  2. Kristin Belyea says:

    With facebook, you can put as little or as much into it as you want. The best thing about facebook is connecting with people you normally wouldn’t get a chance to on a regular basis. I have reconnected with aunts and cousins that I normally only see at Christmas and Thanksgiving. I now feel like a part of their daily lives as we comment back and forth on the pictures and events we post. You can get sucked into the gaming and checking of everyone’s status but once you get over that stage, you will find yourself just checking on your friends and family that post meaningful and interesting updates. It doesn’t take long to figure out who and what you want to read about. Another good thing about facebook is you can limit what you see from other people and even limit the people’s postings that you see and no one knows you have hidden their comments. You can also hide what you don’t want to have seen by others such as photos, birthday, email address or other personal info.

    • leenthebean says:

      Hi Kristin…I’m so glad to know there are ways to limit information – both my own going out and others’ info coming in. That’s been one of the main factors that has kept me away from facebook for so long. I think I also like being one of the only people I know who doesn’t facebook. When everyone else does something, I tend not to. But I’m feeling nudged in that direction :) Thanks for the great info!

  3. Ashley says:

    Hi Colleen!
    I know we talked briefly this afternoon about the benefits of having a facebook page when you’re a blogger, but I totally forgot that I also wanted to mention twitter. I have a personal twitter account and also one linked to Prudence’s blog. It’s been another great way to post links to the blog and to also interact with Pru’s readers. If you would like to chat a bit more about the twitter thing, feel free to send me an email :D

    • leenthebean says:

      Thanks, Ashley. It was great to talk to you and hear about your very successful blog! And thanks for the twitter info. It sounds like a good idea, but I think I better start with facebook, first. Baby steps…:)

Leave a Reply

