Must be disciplined…

It’s that time of year when we’re in the thick our current semester, and we have to think about our classes for the spring semester. We’re just getting grades back on our midterms, but January looms, and registration is right around the corner.

Lots of good classes, but none that I need :(

I’ve always liked checking out all the course listings and figuring out what I want to take. I consult my trusty list of degree requirements, see which UMA offerings match up with what I need, and make a wish list. (Have I mentioned how much I love a list to keep me heading in the right direction?)

I’ve written before that I only have three classes left after this semester. I had already planned on doing an independent study for one of them. The other two classes are specific English requirements, and I’ve been crossing my fingers that one or both would be offered for the spring semester.

A girl can hope, right?

Alas and alack! Neither class is offered, and it looks like I will have to do not one, not two, but three independent studies in order to graduate in the spring. I like to think that I’m pretty disciplined when it comes to my studies, but I’ve gotten used to the structure of a class designed by the instructor: syllabus, readings, assignments, discussion, feedback – all of that.  This ought to be interesting.

Stay tuned as I wade into this new territory…

This entry was posted in UMaine Augusta and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Must be disciplined…

  1. You have such a great site! Hope all is going well for you as we wind down this semester. It certainly has been full of challanges is some areas but I have enjoyed it tremendously! Take care and hope your holidays are filled with good memories.

    Best

    • leenthebean says:

      Hi Kathy…thanks so much for checking in, and for the nice compliment. It will be a busy couple of weeks, but we can see the light at the end of the tunnel, right? Wishing you happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

