New Semester, New Courses, New Experiences

The winter break is officially winding down, and I hope it was as restful or as fruitful as you wanted yours to be. The new semester starts tomorrow, and I’ve got my books, my new notebooks, my post-it notes, and my favorite pens ready to go.

This semester feels BIG, mostly because it will be my last one. But I’m also especially excited about my classes. Each class will be completely different from all the others I’ve ever taken. Here’s my line-up:

– An independent study. I’m calling it Blogging: New Media Journalism. I guess that means y’all are part of my experiment!

– An online class from Orono. I’ve mentioned before that UMA students can take online classes from other UMaine campuses, and I have taken classes out of Orono before. It’s been a few years, though. This one is an interdisciplinary course called A Midwife’s Tale and the Social Web. The core of the class is the book by Laurel Thatcher Ulrich, A Midwife’s Tale, and will have sections taught by different faculty covering history, literature, healthcare, ethnobotany, legal issues around midwifery, and multicultural perspectives. I suppose you could call this an online seminar, so that’s what makes it something entirely new for me.

-A live class in Augusta. UMA: the mother ship! I’ve taken lots of classes that have beamed out of Augusta, but this will be my first class on campus. This will be a Brontë immersion class. All Brontë, all the time! I’m embarrassed to say that I’m one English major who never read Jane Eyre, so I’m glad to be able to remedy that.

I pass along this video that our professor sent and asked us to “give serious attention to.”

One thing a class in Augusta means is that I’ll have to stay overnight on the mainland every week, since I can’t make the last ferry after class. But I found a room in a local Bed & Breakfast, and the kind owners offered me off-season rates, so for less than the cost of cheap motel room, I get to stay in a lovely old Victorian B & B in the heart of Rockland. I’m thinking of it as my winter adventure.

This entry was posted in online classes, UMaine Augusta and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New Semester, New Courses, New Experiences

  1. Pingback: (oops) | Going the Distance…Three Credits at a Time

  2. Pingback: Field Trip: Boston! | Going the Distance…Three Credits at a Time

  3. Pingback: Island Field Trip! | Going the Distance…Three Credits at a Time

  4. E. Sheppard says:

    This is awesome! So fun to watch. Thanks for posting it. I’m going to share it on Facebook.

    • leenthebean says:

      Thanks, E. Isn’t it great? What a fun way to start our class. And I have to give proper credit to my prof, Jill Rubinson, for sending it along to us students by way of welcome.

Leave a Reply

