A Community of Nontrad Bloggers

Nobody blogs on an island. Even if she, in fact, lives on an island.

Bloggers constantly seek out other blogs or other online resources in their niche. We’re looking for a hook, searching for a story to share, always on the hunt for something that sparks that next blog post.

I’m no different. Nearly every day, I cruise through a long list of bookmarked sites. I read blogs about higher education, blogs about technology in the college classroom, blogs about writing, and blogs – believe it or not – about blogging.

But some of my favorite places to check out are blogs written by people a lot like me: older students, distance learners, folks returning to school or starting fresh. In other words, nontraditional students.

We’re scattered all over the country and all over the world. We go to school, we read, we study, we write our papers, we take our exams, we work, we raise our kids, we amuse our spouses, and for some reason, we want to share our stories. And then we invite you, our readers, to the table and we hope you show up.

It can be exhilarating to connect and to get feedback, either in the form of a kind comment or new subscribers or a bump in numbers. And it can sometimes be lonely, feeling like your words are floating out into dead space. Often, this happens in the very same week!

So I think of all those other bloggers, those nontrads trying to bring fresh content to their blogs even as they try to be committed students. We each write from our own tiny corners of bloglandia and we each have our own unique experiences and stories. I think of these folks as kindred souls, even though I’m unlikely to ever meet any of them in person.

One of the very first sites I found when I first started Going the Distance was The Non-Traditional Student Blog. It’s a fabulous resource for any current or prospective student, and a clearinghouse for all things nontrad. In fact, that’s where I first learned that term – nontrad – a cool nickname we can proudly claim as our own.

Betsyanne, the blog mistress over there, has put out an extensive list of blogs, websites, and other online sources for nontraditional students.  I’m thrilled (!) to see Going the Distance is part of the community. Take a peek at her site, and then click over to some of my blog neighbors. It’s a fun bunch.

This entry was posted in Nontrads/non-traditional students and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Community of Nontrad Bloggers

  1. Greg says:

    Happy (but not surprised) to find a plethora of other middle-age college kids. Started by journey and my blog about a week ago. I like your blog a lot and will add it on my page.

  2. Connie Yen says:

    Excellent post! I added you to my blogroll.

  3. I do much the same sort of thing. This is why I’m glad that I subscribed to your blog: it’s always fresh! Keep it up.

  4. E. Sheppard says:

    Wow! You made my day, my week, my month… etc. Your blog is so fun to read. I’m happy I found it too. I will definitely be back.

Leave a Reply

