Floating toward opportunity

This morning, I find myself surrounded by…sleeping men. It’s true.

On this early morning when the sun refuses to make an appearance, their gentle breathings fill the air. They shift in their slumber, then settle into comfort and sleep on. I don’t even know these men. They are strangers to me, but I furtively watch them sleep, and feel our kinship.

Of course, we are in the cabin of our ferry, the Everett Libby, so it’s all legit.

These men are my fellow frequent floaters. We board a boat in the early morning and cross water to find opportunity.

For these guys, the opportunity is work. They are chugging toward Vinalhaven, bringing huge tool totes and boxes of parts with them. They’re out to earn an honest day’s wage anywhere they can, despite the crazy commute. They’ll put in a day, then board the last boat at 4:30 leaving for the mainland.

For me, the opportunity is school. I’m chugging back home after a day and a night on the mainland, toting many books and my laptop and bulk foods from the co-op. I’m chasing my college degree, and I do this despite my own crazy commute. Of course, I’m doing this with the firm hope and belief that I, too, will find work when I finish my degree.

So we are much the same, you see, floating toward opportunity, and then floating home afterward.

This entry was posted in island living and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Floating toward opportunity

  1. Chelsea says:

    Stumbled on your blog from Twitter… I am nearly 38 and trying to get into an MA or MFA for next fall. My resume is pretty “eclectic” as well, and I am not entirely sure if this whole thing is a good idea or a selfish plan to stay out of a suit for the rest of my life. We’ll see! Thank you for the beautiful pictures and thoughtful reflections on starting over. I’ll be back!

    • leenthebean says:

      Hi Chelsea, Many thanks for the great plug on your blog! I’ll have fun reading back over your entries – on both your blogs. My first encounter with this whole blog scene started with my obsessive trolling for writing and knitting blogs. So it’s like it’s gone full circle, with a writer/knitter finding my blog! Thanks for clicking over.

  2. Careyleah says:

    What a lovely photo/essay! The idea of commuting to work by ferry is how I came to Vinalhaven. Your words and pictures resonated with my thoughts and images. Thank you!

    • leenthebean says:

      Hi Careyleah, I’m glad you found me and I’m happy you like the post. I remember many days seeing you on the ferry, often knitting across the bay. Thank you for your kind comment.

  3. E. Sheppard says:

    I love this posting AND the cool photos! How great it must be to live where you do. I would love to take a ferry to work or school. And it is so beautiful there on the land and on the water. The boats, the fog, the lovely trees, the snow, all add to the magic.

    I and all your readers are rooting for you. I will definitely be back here to see what you will write about next. Neat, neat posting!

    • leenthebean says:

      Thanks so much, Betsyanne! I’m having fun adding more pics, although I have to go the library to do it because my internet is too slow. It is certainly a gorgeous place to live, I’ll admit! It seems especially so in the snow.

Leave a Reply

