Field Trip: Boston!

We’ve grown tired of snow and ice and slush and shoveling and scraping and all the rest. Time to head south…

…as far a Boston, anyway! Our daughter lives there and has all kinds of fun adventures planned for us. Of course, their snow banks are higher, their ice is slipperier, and their slush is even deeper. But it’s good to get away, good to get off the island. And to do that, we’ll need these:

I’m on this ferry a couple times a week, but I usually just walk on, lugging my backpack and tote bag, heading off to class. When we drive on, that means a trip, or, dare I say, a voyage. Simply driving on the ferry can feel like the start of an adventure.

Of course, I try to be a diligent student. Hopefully I can manage to finish this book before my Brontë class on Monday. The trip across the water will give me a good chunk of reading time.

Read, read, read, rest the eyes, and read some more.

Boston at night: active, bustling, colorful, and all lit up. So different from home. Isn’t that a large part of the attraction of getting away? We had dinner at Punjab Palace (no Indian restaurants on the island)…

and saw The King’s Speech (brilliant!) at the Coolidge Corner Theatre (no movie house on the island either, and especially one this cool)…

The preview trailer was for the newest incarnation of Jane Eyre. There are numerous television and movie versions of this book. Last week in my Brontë class, we watched excerpts of several of them. From what I can see, this latest take, coming out next month, looks like an absolute winner. Can’t wait…

This entry was posted in field trips and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Field Trip: Boston!

  1. Hi Colleen,

    Love you picture and the site — It has grown since I last visited. I see you like some of the classics also. Jayne Erye was my favorite. The other book by Bronte I have not read yet, so off the the library I shall go. Getting ready for my mid-term in interpersonal communications, I am enjoying Amy Cyr’s class — hope all is going well with you and keep blogging! Best

    • leenthebean says:

      Hi Kathy, I hope you’re looking forward to the new Jane Eyre movie – out next week. That can be your reward after your midterms :) I hope they went well. I hear Amy Cyr is an excellent teacher. Thanks for checking out the blog!

  2. Pingback: Home Again | Going the Distance…Three Credits at a Time

  3. Pingback: Nontrads Make National News! | Going the Distance…Three Credits at a Time

  4. E. Sheppard says:

    What an upbeat, fun posting. I love Jane Eyre so much. I also can’t wait to see it again in a different form. Have fun in Boston!

  5. Carol Petillo says:

    Hi Colleen,

    As always, your blog is so much fun to read — especially this time, with the great pictures! I’m jealous!

Leave a Reply

